Europe / The candidate call for the 2019 Migration Media Award is open!

The Migration Media Award recognizes and rewards the excellence, relevance and quality of journalistic work which deals with migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region. In its first year (2017), the jury gave awards to 35 journalists based in an EU country or in a Southern Partner Country (SPC), and in 2018 they gave 41, with the selected films being published atéats.

This year’s award will be for “solution journalism”, in other words for analytical articles or in-depth surveys, written with humanity – systematically evidence based and rejecting sensationalism. Thus helping to balance current thinking about migration, making it more nuanced and less polarized.

In April / May this year a jury will select up to 60 candidates who will receive tutoring and financial support ranging from €750 to €7,000 to help them produce a second work by October 15th 2019. In November the jury will select 48 winners: that is, a 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize in each of 18 categories – six media formats, each with three languages.

Journalists or news organizations based in the EU or SPC countries are eligible and invited to complete the on-line form by submitting a journalistic work published between May 15th 2018 and March 31st 2019, accompanied by a proposal for a second piece. Both submissions must address one or more of the following themes as experienced in the Euro-Mediterranean region:

  • The diaspora
  • Labour migration
  • Vulnerable groups 
  • Legal and irregular migration.
  1. The work must be submitted in one of the competition’s three languages: English, French, or Arabic. Work published in another Euro-Mediterranean language must be accompanied by a translation into English, French or Arabic.
  2. You may send more than one application, but each must be separate and complete. Multiple entries are accepted in separate and complete applications in the following formats: video, radio, print, online press, multimedia and photo.
  3. Medium or long formats are required for the 2019 MMA, so short news reports will not be eligible.
  4. A budget for the production of the second article must be submitted with copyright exemption and a letter of intent from a media outlet to publish it.

Please note that applicants cannot submit an article which received financial support from MMA in 2017 or 2018.

Before applying, interested candidates should consult the Eligibility and Application section of the site If you have any questions, please contact the organisers at: .

The deadline for submitting applications is April 15tht 2019.

The MMA is organized jointly by two programmes funded by the Directorate-General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR), Euromed Migration IV implemented by the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) and by the Open Media Hub led by the Thomson Foundation, as well as the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade Promotion of Malta, the European Asylum Support Office (EASO) and with the support of the European Investment Bank.

Permanent link to this article: