Spain / The voyage of Salka, In No Man’s Land

The Catalan film-maker Xavi Herrero presented his new feature Salka, In No Man’s Land at the 23rd DocsBarcelona film festival. This, his fifth film, is about the journey of a young woman, Salka.

Salka, In No Man's Land
Salka, In No Man’s Land poster

Salka lives in Mauritania, one of the poorest countries in the world. Hoping for a better future, she decides to emigrate to Europe. Disguised as a man, she begins her journey to the Atlantic coast by boarding the SNIM-company desert train. 700 kilometres across the desert, with temperatures rising to 50° C. But there is also very real danger: the border area between Mauritania and the Western Sahara is a true “no man’s land”, with frequent raids by the Moroccan army.

In the SNIM wagons industrial materials travel alongside people looking for a new future. Silent anxiety can be read on the faces. There is almost no dialogue. The only voice is off-screen, punctuating the journey with Sahrawi poems.

Trailer

Salka, In No Man’s Land is a Mauritanian and Spanish production (Ibizacinefest). It was made with the support of three NGO’s: N.A.D., Proyecto Colibri, and Un lápiz, un dibujo. The documentary is in Arabic, French and Spanish.

Sources :
https://en.ibizacinefest.com
https://docsbarcelona.com
http://www.film-documentaire.fr

Permanent link to this article: http://mediterranee-audiovisuelle.com/espagne-le-voyage-de-salka-in-no-mans-land/?lang=en

Espagne / Le voyage de Salka, In No Man’s Land

Durant la 23e édition du film documentaire de Barcelone, le cinéaste catalan Xavi Herrero a présenté son nouveau long-métrage Salka, In No Man’s Land. Dans son cinquième film, le réalisateur invite son public à suivre la route prise par Salka.

Salka, In No Man's Land
Affiche de Salka, In No Man’s Land

Salka vit en Mauritanie, un des pays les plus pauvres au monde. Espérant un futur meilleur, elle décide d’émigrer en Europe et commence alors son voyage. Déguisée en garçon, elle monte à bord du train SNIM, ou train du désert, afin d’atteindre la côte Atlantique. Durant des centaines de kilomètres, elle traverse le désert sous des températures pouvant atteindre 50°C. Son voyage n’est pas sans danger, puisque la zone frontalière entre la Mauritanie et le Sahara occidental, est un vrai « no man’s land », où les incursions de l’armée marocaine sont constantes.

Dans les wagons du SNIM, les matériaux industriels côtoient les individus à la recherche d’un nouvel avenir. Le silence se lit sur les visages. Pratiquement aucun dialogue ne vient troubler la bande sonore. La parole vient seulement hors-champ, avec la lecture de différents poèmes sahraouis qui rythment le voyage.

Bande annonce

Salka, In No Man’s Land est une production mauritanienne et espagnole (Ibizacinefest). Elle a été réalisée avec le soutien des ONG N.A.D., Proyecto Colibri, et Un lápiz, un dibujo. Le documentaire est en arabe, français et espagnol.

Sources :
https://en.ibizacinefest.com
https://docsbarcelona.com
http://www.film-documentaire.fr

Lien Permanent pour cet article : http://mediterranee-audiovisuelle.com/espagne-le-voyage-de-salka-in-no-mans-land/